Workshops and Webinars 

STOMP offers virtual workshops across multiple days, two-day in-person workshops, and 90-minute webinars on a variety of topics. STOMP’s hope is to enhance the connections and knowledge of our military families. Some of the topics include Parents Rights and Responsibilities in Achieving Education Services (IDEA, IFSP, IEP, IEP Teams, and 504), Advocacy, TRICARE/ECHO/ABA, PCS Tips (Home Files and FERPA), and Transition Planning (Post Secondary Education, Employment, Independent Living). You can bring in your child’s IEP to learn how they can best be supported!

All STOMP instructors are military affiliated with EFMP family members!

STOMP workshops and webinars are open to all military connected families! You do not need to be on active duty or located/stationed at the installation that is hosting.

An installation will host each virtual workshop. All branches of service are welcome to attend!

Host Installation Dates and Times Registration Link
USAG Wiesbaden
(CET is Wiesbaden Local Time)
DATES and TIMES:
January 5, 2022 @ 3pm-5pm CET (8am-10am CT/9am-11am ET/ 6am-8am PT)
January 12, 2022 @ 7pm-9pm CET (12pm-2pm CT, 1pm-3pm ET, 10am-12 PT)
January 19, 2022 @ 2pm-4pm CET (7am-9am CT, 8am-10am ET, 5am-7am PT)
January 26, 2022 @ 6pm-8pm CET (11am-1pmCT/12pm-2pm ET, 9am-11am PT)
USAG Wiesbaden
Fort BenningDATE: January 11, 13 18, & 20, 2022
TIME: 12:00 pm – 2:00 pm EST
Fort Benning
DaeguDATE: February 2, 9, 16, & 23, 2022
TIME: 9:00 am – 11:00 am KST
COMING SOON!
VicenzaDATE: February 3, 10, 17, & 24, 2022
TIME: TBD
COMING SOON!
Stuttgart DATE: March 1, 8, 15, 22, 2022
TIME: TBD
COMING SOON!

Brunch & Learn
“Need to Know” Webinar Series
11:00 a.m. PST, 1:00 p.m. CST, 2:00 p.m. EST

Dates Brunch & Learn Topics
November 19, 2021TRICARE, ECHO, & ABA
December 17, 2021IEP SMART Goals
January 28, 2022504 Plans/Accommodations
February 25, 2022Student-Led IEP
March 25, 2022Supported Decision Making & Person-Centered Planning
April 29, 2022Financial Planning for the Future
May 27, 2022Plan a PCS Move

STOMP Workshop Topic Descriptions:

Advocacy:
Difference types of advocacy, importance, and how self-care plays a role.
Dispute Resolution:
Discussion on the options of resolving a dispute.
Effective Communication:
Effective communication to include the emotions to advocacy, military approach vs civilian approach and how they translate. Communicating military challenges to civilian program appropriately.
Financial Planning for the Future:
Supplemental Security Income, Survivor Benefit Plan, ABLE Act, & Special Needs Trusts
Parent’s Rights & Responsibilities in Achieving Education Services:
IDEA, IFSP, IEP & IEP Teams
Student Led IEP’s:
Detail session of the importance of student led IEP with examples of students being actively involved through their IEP process.
TRICARE, ECHO, ABA & Medicaid:
TRICARE benefits, information on ECHO and ABA eligibility to include updates and changes, and how military families can utilize Medicaid.
Writing SMART Goals:
Detail session on all the parts of the IEP, how to write and effective IEP using SMART goals.
504 accommodations and Transition Planning:
What 504 accommodations and transition planning can look like in school, to include secondary education independent living, and employment.

Other links for the STOMP Program: